Oil Pulling… Say whaaaat?

One thing I have learned about myself is that I LOVE to try new things! I am always wanting to try out the latest food trend, the next health craze, the newest life changing routine, you name it, I want to try it! Cue the add that popped up on my Instagram feed last week for Kopari…

Kopari is a brand of coconut oil products that I have actually used before, but in the the beauty realm. When this add for Kopari popped up on Instagram, I decided to scroll through to see what kinds of new products they had. One of their new products, called Oil Pullers, sent me straight down a rabbit hole. We are talking DEEP. This product had me Googling, Pinteresting, and straight up pondering the practice of Oil Pulling. Have you ever heard of Oil Pulling? Here is what WebMD says about it:

“This oral therapy is a type of Ayurvedic medicine [a traditional Indian system] that dates back 3,000 years,” says Jessica T. Emery, DMD, owner of Sugar Fix Dental Loft in Chicago. “It involves swishing approximately 1 tablespoon of oil — typically coconut, sesame, or sunflower oil — in your mouth for about 20 minutes and then spitting it out.”

Unlike some so-called natural home remedies, it’s not a practice that’s based on pseudo-science. Recent studies show that oil pulling helps against gingivitis, plaque, and microorganisms that cause bad breath. How? “Most microorganisms inhabiting the mouth consist of a single cell,” Emery says. “Cells are covered with a lipid, or fatty, membrane, which is the cell’s skin. When these cells come into contact with oil, a fat, they naturally adhere to each other.”

Now, before we go any further, I realize that this is probably a total crock of bull hockey, but why the heck not try it?! I ordered these Oil Pullers from Amazon on Saturday and somehow magically got them on Sunday. I’m on my 6th day of swishing and am actually really liking the routine! The flavors are really nice and makes it not so hard to swish for 15 minutes since it doesn’t burn like mouthwash! This box is a two week supply and there are three different flavors. There is Pina Colada, Vanilla, and Mint. All three are yummy, but I think that the Vanilla is my favorite because it tastes a little like Lucky Charms! I swish while I’m in the shower because I have a hard time not talking for 15 minutes otherwise (haha) and when I’m finished with my shower, I spit the coconut oil in the trash can. I made the mistake of spiting it down the drain the first time and let me just say, don’t do that. Unless you want a clogged drain of course, and in that case, go right ahead!

“Does it really work?” you ask? Honestly, I have no gosh darn idea! I will say I kind of like the routine it has put me in, so that’s a plus, and I do like imagining that its having some kind of magical powers on my body, however, I can’t tell that much difference yet. Maybe by the end of week two I will have some kind of noticeable change… I’ll keep ya posted! Anywho, if you want to try this, you can order these yummy pre-portioned packs from Kopari that I’ve been using, or you can use some straight up cold pressed coconut oil and do the same thing! Here is a link to the ones that I have been using: https://amzn.to/2t2Eaky

Also, total side note, never look at WebMD if you’re feeling sick, because it will tell you you don’t have much time left on this earth. Only look at it for silly things like Oil Pulling, deal? So… who wants to try this with me?! Have you ever tried Oil Pulling before? Let me know in the comments! I want to know!

Leave a comment