About Face!

Y’all. Let’s talk about skin! Who here has breakouts? Raise your hand. Thats right, you in the corner, go ahead and raise that hand! I know like 2 people who don’t have breakouts, ok? Those people are the major majority! Most of us have breakouts, and I have always been in the breakout crowd. I have tried everything in the book, special face washes, prescription topicals, special facials, and even laser treatments! Nothing seemed to work, until I switched to a more natural and gentle routine. Here is what has worked for me.

I first discovered Tea Tree Oil while living in Denver. I can’t remember how I stumbled upon it, but I noticed that if I put just a dot on a zit, my zit would dry up in a day! It was a miracle! I was sold! I have sworn by the stuff ever since. After this discovery, I decided to check out some face washes by the same brand, Desert Essence, that made the Tea Tree Oil that I was using. I found this face wash called “Thoroughly Clean” and decided to give it a try. Cue, angelic singing!! You guys, I swear this stuff cleared up my face! It’s only like $13 and it works better than anything I’ve ever tried! Since picking this product up at Whole Foods over 6 years ago, I have never looked back!

As far as moisturizer goes, my favorite is super simple and super cheap! I love this Vitamin E Cream by Fruit of the Earth. Its usually around $10 and is as simple as they come! I use it morning and night under my makeup and before I go to bed.

For makeup, I try to use something light weight because in my mind (this may not be correct) I feel like it clogs my pores less! I love NARS Tinted Moisturizer! This stuff has pretty good coverage, but doesn’t leave you looking like you’re wearing a mask. Not only does it look great, but it also has SPF, which is super important to keeping your skin looking good!

For blush, I LOVE elf cream blush in Peach Perfect! This stuff gives you a super natural glow, and leaves your skin feeling fresh all day. I heard somewhere that it’s better to use cream blush because it keeps the moisture in your skin, again, I have no idea if this is true, but I have to say, my skin seems to love this stuff! Did I mention its only $5?!?!?!

And last, but certainly not least, I discovered my favorite mascara thanks to my friend Sara! I’m obsessed with Honest Beauty Extreme Length Mascara and Primer! It’s less than $15, looks like a million bucks, and it stays on all day without all of those annoying little flakes!!

So, what are your tips and tricks?? Have you tried any of these products?!

One thought on “About Face!

  1. Debbie Hodge says:

    You certainly have your daddy convinced about the face wash. Since it is not available in our town I order it off Amazon. When I am out of my face wash, which has scrubby particles, I use his. I really do feel like it is magic on any breakouts I might have! And this from a “Senior Citizen”!

    Like

Leave a comment